Skip to content

Pippa and Greg – Wollombi and Hunter Valley

November 17, 2009

It’s been quite a while since I met a couple for the first time at the wedding but it sometimes happens. Pippa had heard about me through a colleague whose wedding I had photographed and after chatting on the phone felt so comfortable she just booked. With a busy Sydney lifestyle an engagement shoot was out of the question but after multiple emails and phone calls in the lead up to the wedding I really felt I knew Pippa.

Wollombi is such a surreal place, I love it. I think out of all the places I photograph weddings it feels the most Australiana. The old sandstone churches are tiny and its always hot and humid with everyone squashed in. The pubs always packed on weekends and no one seems to have anything much else to do but watch the wedding going on. Its not unusual to have something slightly random happen, like a curly haired Wollombi kid appearing mid ceremony at the alter in a pair of undies?

On the long and windy rd from Wollombi back to the Hunter there are some amazing places to photograph. Pippa had her eye on the Lavendar Farm and we were very lucky to be able to use the property for photos. There was so much to photograph I was just about running around the property so keen to get everything! It was just amazing! Overall the photos have such an elegant, rustic and  australiana feel with Pippa and Greg bringing all the elegance. I’ve been a little indulgent to include two candid portraits of Pippa’s Dad and Uncle that I loved.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

